Am I stupid or are you just lying?

When I read this post by my friend Claire, I thought “Yesss, you are so right!” and had to share it. There are so many books out there which get huge hype but which probably don’t deserve it. Anyway, would love to know what you all think!

ithinkijustbloggedmyself

white-teeth

Book hype is basically my job. I work to create a buzz around the books we publish so people want to buy them – always tap, tap, tapping into their internal FOMO (fear of missing out). Book hype, though, baffles me sometimes, and more often than I’d like to admit, makes me feel insecure about my reading choices.

Every year there are a few books that go big, quick. A successfully planned publicity and marketing campaign and a couple of influential journalists on board, and you’ve got the foundations for a bestseller. If, too, that book receives a plethora of awards and the high acclaim of readers and critics alike, well then it might just go down in the history books (or at least a few Guardian listicles entitled “books to read before you die”).

Zadie Smith’s White Teeth, Donna Tartt’s The Secret History, Jonathan Franzen’s The Correctioners:…

View original post 485 more words

Leave a Reply

